

2018 **UNITED STATES** *Energy Award*



THOMAS R. KUHN

President, Edison Electric Institute



JACK N. GERARD

President & CEO, American Petroleum Institute

PRESENTED APRIL 12, 2018 USEA ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING & POLICY FORUM WASHINGTON, D.C.

U.S. ENERGY AVARD ABOUT:

The United States Energy Award was established in 1989 to recognize preeminent energy leadership initiatives and contributions to international understanding of energy issues. The Award Selection Committee, composed of national energy leaders, examines each nomination for a clearly articulated set of values and history of proven accomplishments. Support for USEA is a major consideration.



THOMAS R. KUHN

President,

Edison Electric Institute

Tom Kuhn is President of the Edison Electric Institute, the association that represents all U.S. investor-owned electric companies. EEI's members provide electricity for 220 million Americans, operate in all 50 states and the District of Columbia, and directly employ more than 500,000 workers. In addition, EEI has 70 international electric companies as International Members, and 270 industry suppliers and related organizations as Associate Members. Mr. Kuhn joined the Institute in 1985 as executive vice president, was named chief operating officer in 1988, and elected president in 1990.

Prior to joining EEI, Mr. Kuhn was president of the American Nuclear Energy Council, which subsequently merged with the Nuclear Energy Institute. The Council represented virtually all of the companies in the commercial nuclear power industry. He joined the Council in 1975 as vice president, government affairs, and became president in 1983.

From 1972 to 1975, Mr. Kuhn headed the energy section of the investment banking firm, Alex Brown and Sons. Prior to that, from 1970 to 1972, he was White House Liaison Officer to the Secretary of the Navy.

Mr. Kuhn served on the Secretary of Energy's Advisory Board and the Board of the U.S. Chamber of Commerce. He currently serves on the Boards of the Alliance to Save Energy, the United States Energy Association, the Electric Drive Transportation Association, and the American Council for Capital Formation. He is Chairman-Emeritus of the Committee of 100 of the U.S. Chamber of Commerce, Chairman-Emeritus of the American Society of Association Executives (ASAE), and past-chairman of the Alliance to Save Energy, and the ASAE/Key Industry Association Committee.

JACK N. GERARD

President & CEO,

American Petroleum Institute

Jack N. Gerard is president and CEO of the American Petroleum Institute, the national trade association that represents all aspects of America's oil and natural gas industry.

Mr. Gerard has led API since November 2008, expanding its membership and influence in all 50 states and globally, with offices in Dubai, Singapore, Beijing, and Rio de Janeiro. API's Washington presence is the foundation for the oil and natural gas industry's advocacy and outreach at state, federal and global levels on public policy, standards and certification programs, and as the source for information on industry best practices. Currently, API's mobilization program is a more than 40 million strong advocacy nationwide network that can mobilize supporters in all 50 states and in 435 congressional districts.

As the industry's national trade association, API has more than 625 members. They range from the largest major oil company to the smallest of independents and represent all segments of the industry.

Prior to joining API, Mr. Gerard served as president and CEO of the American Chemistry Council, and earlier held the same position at the National Mining Association. Mr. Gerard also spent close to a decade working in the U.S. Senate and House. He came to Washington in 1981, and worked for Rep. George Hansen. He also worked for Sen. James A. McClure, who chaired the U.S. Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee.

Sen. McClure retired in 1990, and Mr. Gerard joined him in founding McClure, Gerard & Neuenschwander, Inc., a Washington, D.C.-based government relations consulting firm. Mr. Gerard served as chairman and chief executive officer and focused on issues such as international sports, telecommunications, energy and mining.

PAST AWARD WINNERS:

- 2017 Congressman Joe Barton Vice Chairman, House Committee on Energy & Commerce
- 2016 Rex Tillerson Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, ExxonMobil Corporation
- 2015 **Senator Lisa Murkowski** Chairman, Senate Committee on Energy & Natural Resources
- 2014 Llewellyn King Creator, Host & Executive Producer "White House Chronicle"
- 2013 James E. Rogers Chairman, President and CEO Duke Energy
- 2012 John W. Rowe Chairman Emeritus, Exelon Corporation
- 2011 Michael G. Morris Chairman & CEO, American Electric Power
- 2010 Peter J. Robertson Vice Chairman, Chevron
- 2009 Robert B. Catell Chairman, National Grid, US
- 2008 **Donald P. Hodel** Chairman, Summit Power Group, Inc. & Former Secretary, U.S. Department of Energy and Department of the Interior
- 2007 Spencer Abraham Former Secretary, U.S. Department of Energy
- 2006 Lee R. Raymond Chairman & CEO, Exxon Mobil Corporation
- 2005 Stephen D. Bechtel, Jr. Chairman & CEO Emeritus, The Bechtel Group, Inc.
- 2004 John M. Derrick Chairman & CEO, Pepco Holdings, Inc.
- 2003 Archie W. Dunham Chairman, ConocoPhillips
- 2002 General Richard L. Lawson President, National Mining Association
- 2001 Kenneth Lay Chairman & CEO, Enron
- 2000 P.J. "Jim" Adam Chairman Emeritus, Black & Veatch
- 1999 Don D. Jordan Former Chairman & CEO, Reliant Energy
- 1998 William O. Doub Attorney, Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP
- 1997 Daniel Yergin President, Cambridge Energy Research Associates
- 1996 W.J. "Jack" Bowen Chairman & CEO, Transco
- 1995 George V. McGowen Chairman, Executive Committee, Baltimore Gas & Electric
- 1994 John F. Bookout President & CEO, Shell Oil Company
- 1993 Dr. Henry Linden Founding President & President Emeritus, Gas Research Institute
- 1992 **John Kiely** Honorary Chairman, World Energy Council President, Bechtel Corporation
- 1991 William McCollam, Jr. President Emeritus, Edison Electric Institute
- 1990 **Dr. Chauncy Starr** Founding President & President Emeritus, Electric Power Research Institute
- 1989 Walker Cisler Former Honorary Chairman, World Energy Council; Former Chairman & CEO, Detroit Edison Co.