Nick Akins

Chairman, President & CEO
American Electric Power

Nick Akins is chairman, president and Chief Executive Officer of American Electric Power. He is AEP’s 11th Chairman, 10th President and sixth CEO in the company’s more than 100-year history.

Under his leadership, AEP is investing in modernization and security of the electric grid, resource diversification, and technology and innovation to enable the transition to a clean energy future while preserving universal access to the grid. Akins led a culture transformation to engage employees in customer-focused innovation, enhance diversity and inclusiveness, and build workforce agility for a digital future. Through strategic partnerships and collaboration with customers, Akins has positioned AEP to redefine the future of energy and embrace the transformation sweeping the industry.

Akins rose through the ranks at both AEP and the former Central and South West Corporation (CSW), which merged with AEP in 2000, holding various positions of increasing leadership responsibility throughout his career.

A native of Louisiana, Akins received his bachelor’s degree in 1982 and a master’s degree in 1986 in electric engineering from Louisiana Tech University in Ruston. Additional training includes executive management programs at Louisiana State University, the University of Idaho and the Reactor Technology Course for Utility Executives at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He is a registered professional engineer in Texas.

Akins is a former chairman of the board of directors of the Edison Electric Institute (EEI), Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI), Global Sustainable Electricity Partnership (GSEP), and Ohio Business Roundtable (OBRT), as well as the former chair of the U.S. Business Roundtable (BRT) Energy and Environment Committee, of which he remains a member. Currently, he serves as chairman of the boards of Nuclear Electric Insurance Limited (NEIL) and OhioHealth, and co-chair of the Columbus Partnership. Additionally, he is a member of the boards of the Analysis and Resilience Center for Systemic Risk (ARC), EEI, GSEP, Institute of Nuclear Power Operators (INPO), Fifth Third Bancorp, OBRT and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. In 2020, he was appointed to a two-year term on the National Petroleum Council.