USEA Names Nick Akins Recipient of 2024 Energy Award


Contact: Melissa Brown, [email protected] | (202) 312-1237

USEA Names Nick Akins Recipient of 2024 Energy Award

Washington, D.C. – The United States Energy Association (USEA) today announced that they have named Nick Akins the recipient of the 2024 Energy Award. The United States Energy Award is one of the most respected awards within the energy industry. Established in 1989, the award recognizes preeminent energy leadership and contributions to the national and global understanding of energy issues.

“Throughout his career, Nick has gone above and beyond to advance the energy industry,” USEA President and CEO Mark Menezes said. “His expansive career includes tenures at prestigious organizations such as American Electric Power, the Edison Electric Institute, and Electric Power Research Institute, and his contributions will undoubtedly continue to propel the industry forward. We are honored that he would accept this award in recognition of his devotion and pursuits in advancing energy access domestically and worldwide. He joins a group of elite industry leaders who share this honor and distinction.”

Each year, USEA announces the call for nominations of individuals to receive this prestigious award. The Award Selection Committee examines each nominee’s leadership, history of proven accomplishments, and efforts in advancing energy initiatives in the United States and abroad. Support for the United States Energy Association is also a major consideration. Nick not only met but far exceeded the qualities that USEA seeks in its United States Energy Award recipients.

Nick Akins is the former chair, president and chief executive officer of American Electric Power. He served as AEP’s 11th chair, and from 2011-2022 as the company’s sixth chief executive officer and 10th president. During his tenure, AEP invested in modernization and security of the electric grid, resource diversification, and technology and innovation to enable the transition to a clean energy future while preserving universal access to the grid. Akins also led a culture transformation to engage employees in customer-focused innovation, enhance diversity and inclusiveness, and build workforce agility for a digital future.

A native of Louisiana, Akins received his bachelor’s degree in 1982 and a master’s degree in 1986 in electric engineering from Louisiana Tech University in Ruston.

Akins is a former chairman of the board of directors of the Edison Electric Institute (EEI), Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI), Global Sustainable Electricity Partnership (GSEP), Nuclear Electric Insurance Limited (NEIL), the Ohio Business Roundtable (OBRT), Ohio Health, as well as the former chair of the U.S. Business Roundtable (BRT) Energy and Environment Committee. Currently, he serves on the boards of GE Vernova, Fifth Third Bancorp and DTE Energy, and also serves on the board of The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

The award will be presented at USEA’s Annual Membership Meeting and Public Policy Forum on May 30, 2024. More information on it may be found here.