California Opportunities for Carbon Capture, Utilization and Storage and Enhanced Oil Recovery: Challenges & Policy Requirements

USEA, with support from the U.S. Department of Energy, the Global CCS Institute, the U.S. Carbon Sequestration Council and the California CCS Coalition, hosted a workshop on "California Opportunities for Carbon Capture, Utilization and Storage and Enhanced Oil Recovery: Challenges & Policy Requirements".  The workshop took place on June 27, 2012 in Sacramento, California.


The purpose of the workshop was to discuss policy and regulatory issues concerning carbon capture, utilization and storage and the role of CO2 in enhanced oil recovery.  Presentations and panel discussions featured key stakeholders from government, industry and NGOs, including:


  • Mark Nechodom, Director, California Department of Conservation 
  • Mary Nichols, Chairman, California Air Resources Board 
  • Richard Corey, Deputy Executive Director, California Air Resources Board
  • Pete Montgomery, Executive Director, California CCS Coalition 
  • Jim Boyd, Former Commissioner, California Energy Commission
  • Michael Peevey, President, California Public Utilities Commission
  • Don Winslow, Commercial Advisor, Chevron 
  • Tom Russial, North America Representative, Global CCS Institute 
  • Mark Lerdal, President, Hydrogen Energy California LLC
  • George Peridas, Scientist, Climate Center, Natural Resources Defense Council 
  • Mike Moore, Executive Director, North American Carbon Capture and Storage Association
  • Eric Redman, President, President, Summit Power
  • Darren Mollot, Director, Office of Clean Energy Systems, United States Department of Energy 
  • Elizabeth Burton, Technical Advisor & Program Manager, Earth Sciences Division, Lawrence Berkley National Laboratory & Technical Advisor, WESTCARB


Darren Mollot

Director, Office of Clean Energy Systems
Office of Fossil Energy, U.S. Department of Energy

Mark Nechodom

California Department of Conservation

James D. Boyd

Former Commissioner
California Energy Commission

Eric Redman

Summit Power Group

Elizabeth Burton

Technical Director

Mark Lerdal

Hydrogen Energy California LLC

Mary D. Nichols

California Air Resources Board

Michael E. Moore

Executive Director
North American Carbon Capture and Storage Association

Michael R. Peevey

California Public Utilities Commission

George Peridas

Scientist, Climate Center
Natural Resources Defense Council

Pete Montgomery

Executive Director
California CCS Coalition

Thomas J. Russial

Representative, North America
Global CCS Institute

Don Winslow

Commercial Advisor