Ralph Izzo Presented with 2022 United States Energy Award

Washington, D.C. - Last Thursday, at USEA’s 2022 Annual Membership Meeting and Public Policy Forum, Ralph Izzo, Chairman, President and CEO of Public Service Enterprise Group (PSEG) was presented with the 2022 United States Energy Award. USEA Acting Executive Director Sheila Hollis presented the award virtually.

Prior to the presentation of the award, Maria Korsnick, President and CEO of the Nuclear Energy Institute, and Congressman Frank Pallone, Jr. (NJ-06), Chairman of the House Energy and Commerce Committee, appeared via recorded remarks to congratulate Dr. Izzo.

“I’ve seen Ralph’s vision and drive transform the utility sector. Under his leadership, we’ve seen opportunities for the nuclear industry as a clean energy technology blossom. Ralph is a wonderful storyteller, powerful advocate, and respected leader. His passion for clean energy has shaped PSEG, New Jersey, and the people he has worked with. Ralph’s outspoken support for nuclear carbon-free energy has rippled across the country and the world. Again, congratulations on an impactful career and for this well-deserved award," Korsnick said.

Congressman Pallone added: “Ralph has led PSEG since 2007, and I have worked with him often during the last 15 years. He has led by example, taking decisive action to position PSEG as one of the nation’s leaders in the transition to clean energy. Thank you, Ralph, for your many years of service and dedication to energy issues in New Jersey and nationwide, thank you for being my friend, and congratulations on today’s award and your impending, well-earned retirement.”

After accepting the award, Izzo outlined PSEG’s vision and concluded by thanking USEA.

“Our vision at PSEG is really quite simple. It has three components to it: it’s a future in which we use less energy, and that energy is cleaner than ever before. And last but not least, it’s delivered with unsurpassed unreliability. Much of that is motivated by the reality of climate change and the ever-rapid acceleration of its effects that we are experiencing. We’re active in terms of setting very specific targets for ourselves. We’re not just making promises. We’re taking action - we’re investing over $300 million per year in energy efficiency.

“I thank you, Sheila, and I thank everyone at USEA for the essential role it plays in U.S. energy policy, and the global implications of that, not only from a climate change point of view, but from a geopolitical stability point of view. It’s a real privilege to be named this year’s recipient," Izzo said.

The United States Energy Award was established in 1989 to recognize preeminent energy leaders and their contribution to the understanding of energy issues. The United States Energy Award Selection Committee is composed of national energy leaders, who consider each nominee for a track record in leadership and a history of proven accomplishments, including international contributions. The nominee’s support of USEA’s mission is also a major consideration.