Dr. Joe Hoagland

Vice President for Innovation & Research
Tennessee Valley Authority

Dr. Joe Hoagland is vice president of Innovation and Research responsible for strategic engagement of stakeholders around various issues regarding TVA’s power system and natural resources as well as other issues associated with TVA’s mission. Dr. Hoagland is responsible for TVA’s strategy on technological innovation research, development, and implementation to improve the efficiency, reliability, and resiliency of the TVA power system. He currently leads TVA’s latest IRP effort, and is leading a cross organizational team to evaluate the implications of the changing utility paradigm and developing potential strategies for TVA to meet those changing paradigms. He has extensive experience in utility research and development including generation, technologies, energy efficiency, distributed energy resources, storage, and environmental regulations. Some of Hoagland’s key responsibilities have included environmental policy, R&D strategy, and retail regulation, while serving in numerous TVA organizations including River Operations, Customer Relations, and Office of CEO. Hoagland has served on boards and committees for several industry related organizations including Electric Power Research Institute, Smart Electric Power Association, Electricity Storage Association, Department of Energy, and The Consortium for Advanced Simulation of Light Water Reactors. In addition, he has served on numerous committees for Department of Energy, Department of Defense, and the Electric Utility Cost Group.

He is currently a member of the Board of Directors Smart Electric Power Association. He also serves as the Chair on Electric Power Research Institute‘s Executive Resource Advisory Committee and of the newly formed Tennessee Energy Council. He is also a Fellow for Energy Policy at the Howard H. Baker, Jr. Center for Public Policy.

Hoagland serves as TVA's Vice President of Enterprise Relations and Innovation.

Hoagland joined TVA in 1993. He holds a B.S. in chemistry from Southern Utah University, a M.S. and Ph.D. in physical chemistry from Washington State University.